Sticky buns are sooooo last week.

For this Saturday’s indulgent breakfast, I prepped a batch of cinnamon buns! The recipe comes from one of my favorite blogs, Sprinkle Bakes. The original recipe isn’t for overnight style buns, but I did a slow rise in the fridge overnight so I could bake them fresh this morning.

I prepped and shaped the dough following the recipe, then put them in the fridge overnight (where they could slowly rise), and then picked up the recipe where I left off the night before. If you want to do this, just take the buns out of the fridge while the oven is preheating, and they are good to go. Let’s be honest… No one has 2.5 hours in the morning to make the recipe from start to finish all at once. This ain’t no bakery where the baker wakes up at 3 am, yo.

Cinnamon Buns

The cinnamon buns turned out great! The bread was very light and fluffy and the middles of each roll were so gooey with cinnamon sugar. I was only planning on eating one, but the gorgeous slathering of frosting glaze lured me back in for seconds.

Find the recipe here.

