I’m off to the mountains this weekend, so I’ll be missing out on celebrating one of my favorite holidays – Halloween. Dressing up (myself, the bf, and the dog) and running around town with friends has always been a highlight each fall.

So to get in the Halloween spirit, I dressed up some sugar cookies instead. Do you like my country bumpkin pumpkin sugar cookies? Some are in desperate need of some dental work…

To make them, use a pumpkin cookie cutter and your favorite sugar cookie recipe. Then ice them with royal icing. Pretty easy. I found this royal icing recipe (below) to be the best yet. It’s easy to make, and dries in less than an hour.

Royal Icing

Ingredients:
4 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons meringue powder
6 tablespoons water

Directions:
Mix ingredients above at low speed until well blended and there is no sheen to the icing.

Adjust the consistency to your liking with drops of water, a little at a time.

Add coloring!

